Remembering Shakespeare

Not many of us are left untouched by the works of the greatest English writer the world has ever seen.William Shakespeare’s works include 38 plays and 154 sonnets which have been translated to over 80 languages and are still being performed throughout the world.

I decided to write this post as a remembrance to mark his 400th anniversary of his death on the 25th of this month.

400 years post the death of this legendary playwright,his work continues to entertain as well as educate people round the globe.It would not be an exaggeration if I would announce that his plays have actually lead people develop a positive attitude towards Britain,its culture and the lifestyle of its population all around the world.

” Good frend for Iesvs sake forbeare,
To digg the dvst encloased heare.
Bleste be Middle English the.svg man Middle English that.svg spares thes stones,
And cvrst be he Middle English that.svg moves my bones.”

(Modern spelling: Good friend, for Jesus’ sake forbear, / To dig the dust enclosed here. / Blessed be the man that spares these stones, / And cursed be he that moves my bones.)

This is a chunk of his massive library of his writings.

I am sure most of us remember the iconic playwright for this old fashioned English language that he used invariably.But a fact that vexed me is that the people of his country prefer to read his writings in a modern translated version rather than the style he actually used.On a contrary note,I feel that his style studded his writing and made it more appealing.

Another depressing truth is that the present younger generation feel that William’s work is irrelevant in today’s contemporary world . I want to make it clear that l am not the one unfolding these facts.

A recently released survey by the YouGov poll bring to light many such disturbing revelations.

A total of 18,000 people were surveyed from around 15 countries to mark this day.It stated that Shakespeare was more popular in terms of being liked and considering his work relevant in overseas(65%) than compared to his home country(58%).

More than a third of the people said that it created a positive face of UK in their minds.The figures are high in emerging economies such as India(62%) and Brazil(57%).Most of them are even excited to visit the country as tourists.

Interestingly, 83% of Indians said in the poll that they understood the playwright against just 58% of Britons.

A reporter even quoted that this might have a positive impact on the country’s economy and increasing its impact on the world.

Many of you might agree with me that this is somewhat discomforting.A person never writes to achieve fame or capital. It is just a way to pen down ones perspective that eventually earns them the recognition.The result of the poll serve as an eye opener for most of us.It is extremely depressing to indicate that we need to learn to respect an artist’s hard work.

Shakespeare was an extremely inspiring writer who dedicated his life towards his love for writing.One does not receive such appreciation in almost all the countries of the world in vain . A writer needs to put in their heart, mind and soul into their works to reach the pinnacle of success that Shakespeare had not left untouched.

Not many of you will disagree that writing brings us immense pleasure and even Shakespeare might have also enjoyed such pleasure which made him continue and take it up as a career, a very bold decision in those times.

Although I am not a serious writer, the day I started writing it made me realize what it takes to come up with a piece of work and how much joy it brings. All that a writer aspires for is the recognition for their work. I stared respecting writers for their hard work, the effort that they put in to convey themselves in an appropriate manner to please the reader.

I am sure that from now on, you will also do the same.

15 thoughts on “Remembering Shakespeare

  1. Akki says:

    I don’t read Shakespeare literature but, I also don’t no anything about him besides their name but, after reading your post, I also think to read their literature now. To reading your post, I got some information about them and now I know why they was so famous writer and still from now.

    Your post was really great. Hats off to you for that.

    Thanks for following me too.

    I never written so much in comment but, your post really force me to do this. So you are so lucky ; )

    (Just kidding)

    I really like to be your regular reader. Thanks for sharing this.

    Your future is bright in blogging. So never give up blogging.

    Ok, that’s all. My figures are paining now ; )
    โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • Akki says:

      : )
      I really like it.
      Yes, you are really a good writer and if I have a time to read your each post, I really enjoyed to read. Please don’t think about quitting.

      Yes, You can do this ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

